THE DOGMATIC POWER AROUND HUMAN MEMORY

by Reuben Mwaura

Everything under the sun is based on the memory they have towards their point of interest. It is that memory that creates mutations in genetic makeup and that is probably the main reason in the modern world people have concentrated in memory. We keep in touch mainly because of the memories we create from the experiences we give each other. It is the main reason why a Tourist comes back to a country or place they had visited, with a team of people interested with the same experiences they may have shared.

I have personally been in a place where I never had any contact with my brother and mother for over a decade, it was a children’s home called Kenya’s Kids, there I met other people, male and female, we called the directors mom and dad and the each other sister or brother while the dorm parents were aunts and uncles including the other workers. We all created memories that could make each one of us either keep in or out of touch.

We met people from all over the world, people came from USA, UK, Asia and other parts of Africa. Others could stay with us for even a whole summer and the kind of connection we could create between us dictated a future contact or complete ghosting. Following the fear of Facebook shutdown or whatever crisis the contact giant is going through, everyone should be afraid because this could mean a lot of disconnect.

Recently I was told that my father’s son passed away and the story was posted by his daughter and I was not even shocked or did not even feel any condoling feeling. My brother is the only person I know as my sibling. He happened to have had a mental breakdown twice and I spent a lot of money in those two occasions so as to bring his form back to normalcy. He even moved in with me and I had to pay a lot of people lots of cash following the troubles and losses he had caused people there during his psychotic episodes.

I raised funds from friends who I met many years ago, friends that I value friends that I have memories with. Friends that are mine ride or die. I mean friends that I’d give my kidney for free. People I’d give my life for. It is this kind of connections that are built with memories from experiences that we face every now and then. It was quite a rare experience raising funds from my own circle of friends because my brother’s friends did not come through even with moral support but instead, they appeared later after he recovered. So, the rarity of these events comes in where your friends matter a lot when it is your connection to them directly, and showing that affection to you should be first-hand experience. My brother would feel cared for and loved; he could label me his hero but my true heroes are the people who stood by me. If it were my case and he was on my shoes, then I don’t know whether the converse could happen.

There are acquaintances, who you meet once and they forget about you on their flight back home, maybe because it was not a great experience meeting you or maybe they were never impressed by you or you were never impressed by them. It is that chemistry that allows you to connect and that is the main reason why memories created make connections. Consider your school buddies no matter what level that was, you may have grown closer to some people or apart due to maybe development or really what you feel about yourself today. There are memories that really matter and those that don’t matter.

Think of that man who molested someone you know or maybe you and you were not in a position to fightback. That pedophile walks around and even has guts to say hi to you shamelessly ignoring the negative memories they created on children you know or yourself. I don’t know my reader but I suppose you could associate with such kinds of memories. These are the reasons people go back for revenge; the bad memories that were created during your childhood.

With technology in the past and today, man have worked hard to keep his memories alive because man knows he will forget. The importance of living is the memories you create. The discoveries made are improved through the memories created and kept for reference. Who knows maybe death could have been hidden behind the psychology of memory? When children are born, they start making their memories from a certain age, memories they could keep for close to the rest of their lives. It is said very few people can remember their infancy. Others even believe they must have been alive sometime before they died.

We die because of illness, accidents or sometimes someone can decide to terminate our lives based on what we may have done to them-bad memories. If there was a color to a soul or a unique print that can identify whose soul that specific soul belonged to, then technology could be developed on memory storage upon death and in case people come back, then they could continue with their normal lives. When you die however, you either go to heaven or hell according to Christianity but in case life is a recycle, then you may have been alive for close to 700 years if what you keep on doing is coming back to find hosts at birth.

So, whoever, whatever and wherever you are make a good memory whenever. The people you meet and the things you happen to do will always reflect. It doesn’t matter how many friends you have on Facebook Instagram or twitter, what really matters is who you keep in touch with and how you fancy the memories you create or created with them. This is a world of payback, close to everything we do is paid back to us. It doesn’t need to be divine, but if you find your life divine is some way then you’d agree with the payback confusion you are having. You can’t just kill six million people and just go scot-free.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.